Why is the Academy tweeting mediocre jokes?

Why is the Academy tweeting mediocre jokes?

American Society of Cinematographers - NOMINATIONS

Anna Karenina, Seamus McGarvey
Les Miserables, Danny Cohen
Life of Pi, Claudio Miranda
Lincoln, Janusz Kaminski
Skyfall, Roger Deakins

Seamus McGarvey was nominated for an Academy Award in 2008 for his work on Atonement.

Danny Cohen was nominated for an Academy Award in 2010 for his work on The King’s Speech.

Claudio Miranda was nominated for an Academy Award in 2009 for his work on The Curious Case of Benjamin Button.

Janusz Kaminski has won two Academy Awards for his work on Schindler’s List and Saving Private Ryan, and was also nominated for Amistad, The Diving Bell and the Butterfly and War Horse.

Roger Deakins has been nominated for nine Academy Awards for his work on The Shawshank Redemption, Fargo, Kundun, O Brother, Where Art Thou?, The Man Who Wasn’t There, No Country For Old Men, The Assassination of Jesse James By The Coward Robert Ford, The Reader and True Grit.

thegoldknight said: How many Best Picture nominees do you think there will be?

It’s hard to say but I think it will be either nine or ten.

DGA Nominees:
  • Ben Affleck, Argo
  • Kathryn Bigelow, Zero Dark Thirty
  • Tom Hooper, Les Misérables
  • Ang Lee, Life of Pi
  • Steven Spielberg, Lincoln

Notable exclusions include David O. Russell and Quentin Tarantino.


Best Picture


Best Director

Paul Thomas Anderson (The Master)

Best Actor

Daniel Day-Lewis (Lincoln)

Best Actress

Jessica Chastain (Zero Dark Thirty)

Best Supporting Actor

Philip Seymour Hoffman (The Master)

Best Supporting Actress

Anne Hathaway (Les Misérables)

Best Original Screenplay

Wes Anderson and Roman Coppola (Moonrise Kingdom)

Best Adapted Screenplay

Chris Terrio (Argo)

Best Cinematography

Roger Deakins (Skyfall)

Best Editing

Alexander Berner (Cloud Atlas)

Best Animated Feature


Best Documentary

This Is Not a Film

Best Film Not in the English Language

Holy Motors



Flight, Written by John Gatins; Paramount Pictures

Looper, Written by Rian Johnson; TriStar Pictures

The Master, Written by Paul Thomas Anderson; The Weinstein Company

Moonrise Kingdom, Written by Wes Anderson & Roman Coppola; Focus Features

Zero Dark Thirty, Written by Mark Boal; Columbia Pictures


Argo, Screenplay by Chris Terrio; Based on a selection from The Master of Disguise by Antonio J. Mendez and the Wired Magazine article “The Great Escape” by Joshuah Bearman; Warner Bros. Pictures

Life of Pi, Screenplay by David Magee; Based on the novel by Yann Martel; 20th Century Fox

Lincoln, Screenplay by Tony Kushner; Based in part on the book Team of Rivals: The Political Genius of Abraham Lincoln by Doris Kearns Goodwin; DreamWorks Pictures

The Perks of Being a Wallflower, Screenplay by Stephen Chbosky; Based on his book; Summit Entertainment

Silver Linings Playbook, Screenplay by David O. Russell; Based on the novel by Matthew Quick; The Weinstein Company


The Central Park Five, Written by Sarah Burns and David McMahon and Ken Burns; Sundance Selects

The Invisible War, Written by Kirby Dick; Cinedigm Entertainment Group

Mea Maxima Culpa: Silence in the House of God, Written by Alex Gibney; HBO Documentary Films

Searching for Sugar Man, Written by Malik Bendejelloul; Sony Pictures Classics

We Are Legion: The Story of the Hacktivists, Written by Brian Knappenberger; Cinetic Media

West of Memphis, Written by Amy Berg & Billy McMillin; Sony Pictures Classics

FYC: Best Original Score

Alexandre Desplat - Maya on Plane (Zero Dark Thirty)

Art Directors Guild - NOMINEES


Period Film

ANNA KARENINA Production Designer: Sarah Greenwood

ARGO Production Designer: Sharon Seymour

DJANGO UNCHAINED Production Designer: J. Michael Riva

LES MISÉRABLES Production Designer: Eve Stewart

LINCOLN Production Designer: Rick Carter

Fantasy Film

CLOUD ATLAS Production Designer: Uli Hanisch, Hugh Bateup

LIFE OF PI Production Designer: David Gropman

PROMETHEUS Production Designer: Arthur Max

THE DARK KNIGHT RISES Production Designer: Nathan Crowley
Kevin Kavanaugh

THE HOBBIT: AN UNEXPECTED JOURNEY Production Designer: Dan Hannah

Contemporary Film

FLIGHT Production Designer: Nelson Coates

SKYFALL Production Designer: Dennis Gassner

THE BEST EXOTIC MARIGOLD HOTEL Production Designer: Alan MacDonald

THE IMPOSSIBLE Production Designer: Eugenio Caballero

ZERO DARK THIRTY Production Designer: Jeremy Hindle

FYC: Skyfall

FYC: Skyfall